Posted by: Orgyen Norla | December 17, 2009

Prostrations to the 35 Confessional Buddhas

The following practice, which is known as the Prostrations to the Thirty-Five Confessional Buddhas, is an extremely powerful practice to purify all our negative karma and accumulate vast merit for us. Prostrations are also one of the foundational practices of Tibetan Buddhism, and doing them makes our minds extremely clear, pure and virtuous. Lama Tsong Khapa, one of the greatest Buddhist masters in history, and founder of the Gelugpa lineage of Tibetan Buddhism, did hundreds of thousands of prostrations to the 35 Buddhas. As a result of his purification practices, he was able to perceive the holy Buddhas directly and receive teachings from them. There is no doubt that doing this practice will purify your negativities and remove problems from your life.

The Actual Practice
First visualize the 35 Buddhas in the space in front of you. You can also obtain a picture of the 35 Buddhas and prostrate to it. Next, prostrate three times and recite the following mantra at the same time. Doing so will increase the power of one’s prostrations:

OM NAMO MANJUSHRIYE NAMO SUSHRIYE NAMO UTTAMA SHRIYE SOHA (3x)

The body of the practice will be divided into 4 components or “powers”. Any purification practice always must consist of these four powers: the power of refuge, the power of regret, the power of the remedy and the power of resolution to not commit negativities again.

The Power of Refuge
I, (your name); take refuge in the Guru,
I take refuge in the Buddha,
I take refuge in the Dharma,
I take refuge in the Sangha. (3x)

The Power of Regret
To all you Buddhas and other holy and enlightened beings throughout the ten directions of space and three times [past, present, and future], please pay attention to me!

In my present life and in all my past lives from beginningless lifetimes in the past, I confess all my negative actions I committed with my body, speech and mind. I confess all negative actions I personally did, made others do, or rejoiced in the doing of (feeling happy when someone else commits a negative act also causes one to create negative karma. This is known as ‘negative rejoicing’)

I confess all the negative actions I have committed, made others commit, or rejoiced in the committing of; acts such as the ten non-virtuous acts of killing, stealing, sexual misconduct, lying, frivolous speech, sowing discord among beings by spreading false tales and rumours, harsh speech, wrong views, greed, wishing harm upon others .

The Power of the Remedy
The remedy consists of doing prostrations to the 35 Buddhas. Recite the particular Buddha’s name as you do each prostration.

To the Bhagavan Tathagata Foe-Destroyer Perfectly Complete Buddha Glorious Conqueror Shakyamuni I prostrate.
To Tathagata Thoroughly Destroying With Vajra Essence I prostrate.
To Tathagata Radiant Jewel I prostrate.
To Tathagata Naga-Lord King I prostrate.
To Tathagata Army of Heroes I prostrate.
To Tathagata Delighted Hero I prostrate
To Tathagata Jewel Fire I prostrate.
To Tathagata Jewel Moonlight I prostrate.
To Tathagata Meaningful to Behold I prostrate.
To Tathagata Jewel Moon I prostrate.
To Tathagata Immaculate I prostrate.
To Tathagata Bestowed with Courage I prostrate.
To Tathagata Purity I prostrate.
To Tathagata Bestowed with Purity I prostrate.
To Tathagata Water-God I prostrate.
To Tathagata Water-God Deity I prostrate.
To Tathagata Glorious Excellence I prostrate.
To Tathagata Glorious Sandalwood I prostrate.
To Tathagata Infinite Splendor I prostrate.
To Tathagata Glorious Light I prostrate.
To Tathagata Glorious Sorrowless I prostrate.
To Tathagata Son of Cravingless I prostrate.
To Tathagata Glorious Flower I prostrate.
To Tathagata Pure Light Rays Clearly Knowing by Sporting I prostrate.
To Tathagata Lotus Light Rays Clearly Knowing by Sporting I prostrate.
To Tathagata Glorious Wealth I prostrate.
To Tathagata Glorious Mindfulness I prostrate.
To Tathagata Glorious Name Widely Reowned I prostrate.
To Tathagata Most Powerful Victory Banner King I prostrate.
To Tathagata Glorious Utterly Suppressing I prostrate.
To Tathagata Totally Victorious in Battle I prostrate.
To Tathagata Glorious Suppressing Advancement I prostrate.
To Tathagata Glorious All-Illuminating Manifestations I prostrate.
To Tathagata Jewel Lotus Suppressor I prostrate.
To Tathagata Foe-Destroyer Perfectly Complete Buddha Mountain-Lord King Firmly Seated on Jewels and a Lotus I prostrate.

The Power of Resolution
Before the 35 Buddhas, I vow never to commit ever again those negative actions from which I can easily abstain from; and I vow not to commit for a day, an hour, a few minutes or at least a few seconds those negative actions from which I find it difficult to abstain from doing.

Dedication of Merit
You can now dedicate the merit you have created from this practice to any virtuous cause. Here is a dedication you can do:
By the merit of this practice:
May all sentient beings and myself be completely purified of our negative karma. From this time on, in this life and all future lives, may the Buddha, Dharma and Sangha grant refuge to all sentient beigs. May all holy enlightened beings remain in samsara till it ends to teach and train us. May all the teachings of the Buddhas, Bodhisattvas and lineage Gurus shine like the sun and moon to destroy the darkness of ignorance and remain forever more. May I achieve the state of Guru Buddha!

May my Venerable Guru’s life be long, firm, stable and healthy, and may his Dharma activities spread and flourish far and wide.

In all my future rebirths, may I never for a single second be separated from my precious Guru. May my Guru’s mind and my mind become one, and may I constantly receive the blessings of my Guru.

May this merit be dedicated to all sentient beings of the six realms, especially to all those sentient beings I owe karmic debts to. May all sentient beings be freed of all their problems and sufferings and quickly become Buddhas!

Categories

